Deleting a Folder from a Folder Template

SmartVault uses folder templates to create folders in your account. Folder templates only apply to those folders automatically created for adding a client, creating a new engagement, or adding an employee. You can delete a folder so that all folders created from that folder template will no longer include that folder.

For this example, we'll delete a folder from the Tax Engagement folder template. The folder we'll delete is the Client Organizer folder.

  Note

  • Deleting a folder from a template may leave some of your Lacerte or ProSeries printed documents without a folder in SmartVault to be placed in automatically. Be sure to check the documents stored in the folder before deleting the folder. See this article for steps on editing the folders where documents are stored in your SmartVault account.
  • Deleting a client vault containing folders and subfolders will go to the Recycle Bin. If you need to restore it, first restore the client vault from the Recycle Bin (this action will restore the vault and its folders), then restore the subfolders from the Recycle Bin of each folder. 

Deleting a Folder

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault Portal.
  2. Click Manage Folder Templates.
  3. You have several templates by default. For this example, we're editing the template that creates tax engagements. Click on View and edit templates for the Tax Engagement template.
  4. The template displays the folders that SmartVault uses when you create a tax engagement for a client. Before we delete this folder, we need to check if SmartVault routes any documents from Lacerte or ProSeries to this folder. Click on the gear icon next to the folder that you want to delete and select Edit folder.
  5. For our example, we've selected the Client Organizer folder. Check for documents sent from Lacerte or ProSeries under Documents stored in this folder. Since this folder doesn't have any documents here, it's safe to delete. If there are documents automatically stored here from Lacerte or ProSeries, we should transfer that setting to a different folder. See these steps on editing the folders in the folder templates.
  6. Click Cancel changes.
  7. Click on the gear icon next to the folder that you want to delete and select Remove folder.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Click Save changes.
  10. Enter a description of the change you made. Check the Apply now box if you'd like SmartVault to make the changes to your folders immediately. Click OK.

      Note

    If you choose to apply your changes later instead, click Apply template here when you're ready to make your changes across your account.

  11. After some time, all of the tax engagement folders for all your clients will update to reflect the changes you made.

Considerations

  1. Deleting a folder in the template will not delete the folder from every client if the folder contains documents.
  2. Deleting a folder with a tag association (Documents stored in this folder) for specific automation in SmartVault will break unless you enable those associations on a different or new folder.

    Example: If you delete the Client Organizer folder and it has a Documents stored in this folder association for "Client organizer," then the following will happen:

    • Printing an organizer from ProSeries or Lacerte will go to the folder with the Miscellaneous tag (usually the Tax Return folder).
    • The Send Organizer page will no longer show Organizers printed to SmartVault, depending on the association tag. The same is valid for Client Source Documents and Client Tax Returns and Tax Returns folder in the tax engagement.
    • The email template feature, which auto-creates links to documents in the tagged folder, will not work.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 3 found this helpful
...