Unlocking a File in the Connected Desktop

Overview

Follow these steps to resolve an issue when a file remains locked from the Connected Desktop even after saving and closing the file. Please keep in mind that only the administrator(s) on the SmartVault account can unlock a file.

Important: Before proceeding, ensure all files have been saved and all of your work closed. Unlocking the files without keeping a copy will result in the loss of unsaved changes to that file. You may also want to check if that file is being used by another SmartVault user(s) on your account as well, or they will lose their work as well.

The unlock feature should only be used as a last resort to unlock the file for editing.

Unlocking a File

  1. Open the Connected Desktop and navigate to the locked file.
  2. Right-click on the file and select Unlock to unlock the file.
  3. Once you click Unlock, you will get the warning message below. Click Yes to proceed with unlocking the file.

The file should now be unlocked for editing, moving, or deleting.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 5 found this helpful
...