File Locking in Connected Desktop

Overview

You can lock a file in Connected Desktop without taking any additional action other than opening the file. After doing so, any other users are informed that the file is locked for editing. The file automatically unlocks when it is closed, making it available to other users.

Locking Files

A file is automatically locked as soon as you open it, indicated by a lock symbol that takes the place of a file type icon.

When another user attempts to open the file, he or she receives an error message informing them the file is locked.

Notes:

  • A file can be locked for up to seven days, after which it will reappear in your vault as unlocked.
  • If you lock a file on your computer, you cannot access it on your phone/tablet/another computer.

...