Using the Recycle Bin to Delete or Restore Files and Folders

Overview

When you delete a file or a folder in the SmartVault Portal, it is moved to the recycle bin. You can recover the item from the recycle bin for 90 days. After 90 days, deleted items are purged from your account. 

Documents and files stored in the recycle bin are not counted against the storage space allocated for your account. 

Deleting a File or Folder

To delete a file or folder:

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault Portal.
  2. Browse to and select the file(s) or folder(s) you want to delete.
  3. Click the Send selected items to the trash icon. 

Restoring a Deleted File or Folder

To restore a deleted file or folder:

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault Portal.
  2. Go to the vault or folder that contains the file or folder which was deleted.
  3. Click the Container properties icon on the top right corner.
    mceclip0.png
  4. Click the Recycle Bin tab.
  5. Enabled the checkbox next to the items you want to restore.
  6. Click Restore

Recycle Bin Permissions

To use the recycle bin, you must meet one of the following requirements:

  • You are a member of the SmartVault Administrators group.
  • On a Tax Plan, you are a member of the Employees group.
  • You are a member of the Vault Managers group or the Full Access group for the vault where the deleted folder or file is located. 
  • You have create permissions for the folder that contains the deleted document or for the parent folder that contains the deleted folder. 
...