Removing Access to SmartVault, Specific Folders/Vaults, or Groups

Overview

Administrators can remove a user from their SmartVault account or remove a user's access to specific folders/vaults or groups. 

Removing a User from Your SmartVault Account

You can remove a user, client, or guest from your SmartVault account. 

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault Portal.
  2. Click on your initials on the top right.
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Under Manage Groups, select Licenses.
  5. Click Remove next to the user's email address and then OK.

Removing a User from a Specific Folder or Vault

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault Portal.
  2. Click Files and Folders.
    mceclip0.png
  3. Navigate to the folder or vault you want to remove the user from and click the Container properties icon

      Note

    If you have your View Preferences set to "2020 New View", visit the section Item Properties of Navigating the New Files and Folders View to learn how to access the client's vault properties.

  4. Click the Access and Notifications tab, and then click Edit Access Settings.
    mceclip3.png
  5. Click the X icon under the Remove column to remove that user's access to the folder or vault, and click Save Settings
    mceclip1.png

      Note

    If the X icon is color grey, this means that the permission for that user was granted from the Folder Template level. The only way to remove their permission is to remove them from the group from the vault level.

Removing a User From a Group

Group permissions are set at the vault level. To remove a user from a group:

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault Portal.
    Click Files and Folders.
  2. Navigate to the folder or vault you want to remove the user from and click the Container properties icon. 

      Note

    If you have your View Preferences set to "2020 New View", visit the section Item Properties of Navigating the New Files and Folders View to learn how to access the client's vault properties.

  3. Click Manage Group Members.
    mceclip4.png
  4. Select the appropriate group tab and find the user to remove.
    mceclip2.png
  5. Click Remove and then click Save Changes
Was this article helpful?
3 out of 9 found this helpful
...