Canceling Your SmartVault Subscription

To cancel your SmartVault subscription, close your account in the SmartVault portal. Your subscription ends at the end of your current billing cycle. Your login is deactivated, and you will not be able to access your documents in SmartVault once your subscription ends.  Important: Only Administrative Users and Account Owners can close a SmartVault Account. SmartVault employees cannot close your account for you.

Backing Up Your Documents

SmartVault deletes all your documents and QuickBooks entries when you close your account. Any documents in SmartVault attached to QuickBooks entries, notes associated with QuickBooks entries using the SmartVault Toolbar, and QuickBooks company file backups are deleted when your subscription ends.

Before you cancel your subscription, back up your documents on your local computer, cloud, or shared on a network.SmartVault recommends using the SmartVault Connected Desktop or SmartVault Drive to create a backup of your documents.   

Closing Your Account

Identify the Billing System your account is in, then follow the steps for your system.

New Billing System

Follow these steps to cancel your subscription in the new billing system:

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault Portal.
  2. Click on your initials at the top of the screen and click Settings.

    Image of account menu. See information above.

  3. Go to Account Settings>Manage Billing and Payment, then click Billing.

    Image of Account Settings page. See information above.

  4. In SmartVault Manage Subscriptions, click the box with your subscription information.

    Image of manage subscriptions window. See information above.

  5. Click Cancel Subscription.

    Image of subscription details window. See information above.

  6. A notice shows the subscription end date. Please let us know why you canceled your subscription, then click Confirm Cancellation.

    Image of cancellation confirmation. See information above.

  7. A confirmation message shows the date your account will close. You can access your account until that date.
    • Click Remove scheduled cancellation if you decide to keep your subscription.
  8. Click Close to return to the portal.

    Image of subscription details. See information above.

  9. Once you leave this page, you must contact us to renew your subscription.
Legacy Billing System

Follow these steps to cancel your subscription in the legacy billing system:

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault Portal.
  2. Click on your initials at the top of the screen and click Settings.

    Image of account menu. See information above.

  3. Go to Manage Account and click Close Account.

    Image of Manage account section. See information above.

  4. Select that you understand your documents and data in SmartVault will be deleted, then click Close Account to confirm closing your account.

    Image of close account confirmation window. See information above.

  5. Once you close your account, you must contact us to renew your subscription.
Was this article helpful?
8 out of 32 found this helpful
...