Understanding the Assign Employees Feature

Overview

The Assign Employees feature gives you more control over which clients your employees can see and manage.

How it works

When Assigned Employees log into SmartVault, they will be able to:

  • Filter and manage the specific clients assigned to them.
  • Have full functionality for their clients' vaults based on their role as a Firm Manager or Firm Employee.
  • Send tax returns, organizers, and financial statements to those clients to whom they have access.
  • Receive notifications only from their subset of clients.

This feature is ideal if you have a medium or large firm with lots of clients and you want to segregate access to various clients.

Who can be an Assigned Employee?

Any SmartVault user can be an assigned employee. Please refer to the table below to learn what each role is allowed to do in SmartVault.

Assigned Employee Roles

Adding an Assigned Employee

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault Portal.
  2. Select Employees.

    Employees.png

  3. Click the + icon in the top left-hand corner of the screen.

  4. Click the + icon to add information for each field.

      Note

    The Names and Email fields are required. 

  5. Select Assigned Employee from the Group Membership section. Enable the Seasonal worker checkbox to give the employee seasonal worker privileges.

    Assigned_employee.png

  6. Click the Save changes icon to save, create, and invite the employee.

Assigning Employees to Clients

The SmartVault Dashboard lets you give employees access to multiple clients at one time.

  Note

Use this feature with caution as each client assignment generates a separate email notification.

To assign employees to clients:

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault Portal.
  2. Select Clients.
    Clients.png
  3. Select the clients to assign to the employee.
  4. Click the Assign employees icon.
  5. Double-click on each employee you want to assign to the clients.
  6. The selected employees will show in the Employees to add section.

      Note

    • Select the Firm manager checkbox to give the employee full access permissions, including granting read and write access permissions to other employees for these clients. They also can invite clients or guest users. If you do not select the checkbox, the employee has Firm employee permissions, including reading, writing, creating, and deleting access permissions. Firm employees cannot grant access permissions to other users.
    • Firm manager and Firm employees are granted access from the Folder Template. See the Managing Folder Templates for help with granting access to them.
  7. Click OK.

Verifying Assignments

It might take a short time for these changes to apply. Follow these steps to check that the assignments are completed:

  1. From the Portal, select Files and Folders.
    Files_and_folders.png
  2. Navigate to the client vault and click on its Properties icon.
  3. Click Manage Group Members.
  4. Your employees should appear under Firm Managers, Firm Employees, or both.

Filtering your Assigned Clients Using the Dashboard

As an administrator or account employee, you can use My Clients filter to see only those clients you want and need to manage.

Follow these steps to filter your clients in the Dashboard:

  1. From the Portal, select Clients.
    Clients.png
  2. Select My Clients Only checkbox.
  3. The list of clients will refresh, displaying only the clients assigned to you.

      Note

    The My Clients Only checkbox will not be visible for Assigned Employees as they will only see the list of clients assigned to them.

Filtering your Assigned Clients Using the Connected Desktop

As an administrator or account employee, you can use My Clients filter to see only those clients you want and need to manage.

Follow these steps to filter your clients in the Connected Desktop:

  1. Open the SmartVault Connected Desktop
  2. Select the My Clients tab.
  3. The Client List Pane will refresh, displaying only the clients assigned to you.

      Note

    The My Clients tab will not be visible for Assigned Employees as they will only see the list of clients assigned to them.

...