Archiving and Restoring Clients

As your client base changes, you can archive clients so they won’t appear on client lists for your employees in Client Management and the Connected Desktop.

  Important

Archiving clients does not remove the client from your list of Files and Folders. Instead, the client vault is removed from your list of active clients, meaning that the vault will no longer appear on the Client Management page nor the Clients view of the Connected Desktop. However, they will still appear when navigating the Mapped Drive, the View Files and Folders page of the online Portal, and the Files view of the Connected Desktop.

Archived clients can still access their accounts, or you can remove their access. Their data is saved in SmartVault so employees can view and download archived client data. SmartVault administrators can restore archived client vaults for all users if the client returns.

Archiving Clients in the Portal

To archive clients in the SmartVault Portal:

  1. Sign in to SmartVault.
  2. Click Client Management from the navigation sidebar.
  3. Select the client(s) you want to archive.
  4. Click on Actions next to Add Client, then select Archive.
    • You can also click Actions in your client list to archive a single client.
  5. In Archive Client, select an option:
    • Archive and preserve client access — The client(s) can continue to access their SmartVault guest account and documents.
    • Archive and remove client access — The client(s) cannot continue to access their SmartVault guest account and documents.
  6. Click Archive.
  7. Archiving Clients displays a list of archived clients and their status:
    • Blue check mark — Client archived successfully.
    • Red exclamation point —There was an error archiving the client because the client does not exist.
Archiving Clients in the Portal.gif

Archiving Clients in the Connected Desktop

To archive clients in the Connected Desktop:

  1. Open the SmartVault Connected Desktop and go to Clients.
  2. Right-click to select the client you want to archive and choose Archive client in the shortcut menu.
  3. In Archive Client, select an option:
    • Archive and preserve client access — The client can continue to access their SmartVault guest account and documents.
    • Archive and remove client access — The client cannot continue to access their SmartVault guest account and documents.
  4. Click Archive. The client is archived and removed from your account client list.
Archiving Clients in the Connected Desktop.gif

Managing Archived Client Data

You can still access archived client data to rename, copy, delete, and download their documents.

To view and manage all of your archived clients and their folders in the SmartVault portal:

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault Portal.
  2. Click on your initials at the top of the screen and select Settings.
  3. Go to Account Settings>Manage Account, then click Archived Clients.
  4. The Archived clients page opens. Click the archived client’s Vault to see the client's folders.
  5. View and manage your clients' folders and documents on the View Files and Folders page.
Managing Archived Client Data.gif

Restoring Archived Clients

To return an archived client to your current client list and restore their folders for your employees:

  Important

You must be a SmartVault Administrator to restore archived clients. Restoring clients adds them back to all employees on the account.

  1. Sign in to the SmartVault Portal.
  2. Click on your initials at the top of the screen and select Settings.
  3. Go to Account Settings>Manage Account and click Archived Clients.
  4. On the Archived clients page, select the client(s) you want to restore and click Restore clients.
  5. Click Restore to confirm. The clients you restored are visible in your employees’ client lists. 
  6. Re-invite archived clients and guests to SmartVault to give them access to their accounts and documents again.
Restoring Archived Clients.gif
Was this article helpful?
29 out of 39 found this helpful
...